Gone Fishing

Barracuda on a gaffIt’s two days before my birthday and I’m two for two. Barracuda, that is.

Happy Times was following Zero to Cruising, a PDQ catamaran, across the Caicos Banks to French Cay. I tossed out my first line around 11 a.m. and hooked my first ‘cuda shortly afterward. It took me about 15 minutes to reel him in.

I was more interested in retrieving my lure than the fish. Mike gaffed him so he couldn’t snap our hands off. I approached him with a pair of pliers and was able to release the lure before Mike tossed the barracuda back into the water. He floated on top for about five seconds, then took off.

I threw the line back into the water so I could catch something more interesting. There’s a saying, “Yellow and green, dolphin eating machine.” I wanted some mahi-mahi for dinner, and I used the same green lure I’d used earlier. Before I could set my yo-yo line as a backup, the Penn reel started singing again, and I had another ‘cuda on the line.

This one was more reluctant than the first to come aboard Happy Times. I played him for about 45 minutes until I was able to get him close enough for Mike to strike him on the head with a crowbar. He was even bigger than the first.

Tonight we dined on marinaded, grilled barracuda steaks, baked potatoes, sliced tomatoes, Mike’s freshly baked bread and Mikayla’s freshly baked checkerboard cookies. A great way to end a great day of sailing.

 

About Cheryl Crockett Lezovich

Mom, first mate and writer aboard a 40' Manta catamaran, S/V Happy Times.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gone Fishing

  1. Mike says:

    Awesome dinner. Thanks again for inviting us over!

    Mike

  2. Mike says:

    Happy birthday, Cheryl!

Leave a Reply

