Mike “Nets” a Big One

Mike releases Happy Times from NetCheryl has caught the fish. The only thing Mike has caught is a net.

This morning the starboard engine slowed down dramatically. Mike first thought a poor fuel filter caused the loss in power. He pulled on his best greasy T-shirt and climbed into the engine room to change it. When the engine was turned over to check the new filter, it still lacked power. It refused to climb above 1800 RPMs.

Mike changed the second fuel filter and came up with the same result.

As Happy Times ran along on the port engine, Mike morphed back into Mr. Configurator from his IBM days and processed the morning’s events. He soon concluded that a thumping sound he’d heard below the engine meant something else and that turned out to be a net caught on the saildrive.

“It was a relief that the problem was now clearly defined and therefore going about fixing it was easily established,” he said.

Mike pulled on his snorkel gear, attached his favorite Swiss Army knife to his shorts and jumped in. The effort to free the net was exhausting. Mike took a couple of breaks but soon returned to the water with different strategies and knives to release the net from Happy Times. Fortunately, it wasn’t wrapped tightly around the saildrive. Some cutting helped, but unwinding the net did the most good.

Mikayla, the best and strongest swimmer aboard Happy Times, was getting ready to jump in the water when Mike came up with the mass.

“I felt tremendous relief and accomplishment,” he said, “because at 150 miles from land, there was nobody to call to come help. It was all up to me.”

About Cheryl Crockett Lezovich

Mom, first mate and writer aboard a 40' Manta catamaran, S/V Happy Times.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mike “Nets” a Big One

  1. Pingback: Captain Hook | Three at Sea

  2. adidas says:

    First of all I would like to say superb blog! I had a quick question
    which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested
    to find out how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing.
    I have had a tough time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out there.

    I do take pleasure in writing however it just
    seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are wasted just trying to figure out how
    to begin. Any ideas or hints? Cheers!

    • I apologize for failing to answer your question sooner. I didn’t receive a notice that my blog had received a new comment.

      I form the ideas in my head before I sit down to write. I may be washing dishes or folding laundry when an idea hits me and I start writing it mentally. Also, I learned a long time ago that it’s okay to take 10-15 minutes to clear the brain. In fact, if you sit down and write, even nonsense, and spend a few minutes on it, your brain will be cleared and prepared to produce your creative content.

      Cheers,

      Cheryl

Leave a Reply

