Mikayla and Mom Climb the Mast

It was a tall order. Sixty-three feet, as a matter of fact. Mikayla and I both climbed the mast to make repairs today. I went in the morning; she in the evening.

Shortly after 7:00 a.m., I told the crew that I was ready to go up. Now. Mike cinched me into the bosun’s chair and then pulled me up using the winch. Dave Rock had the backup halyard, and his wife Helen steadied me with a line tied to the rear of the bosun’s chair.

The height wasn’t too bad once I was aloft. I focused on the job–assessing the sheaves for the main halyard, checking the anchor light and checking the steaming light. As long as I didn’t look down, I was okay.

At that time of day the boat traffic through Current Cut wasn’t so bad, and the trades hadn’t kicked up yet. By the time 5 o’clock rolled around, however, conditions proved different. The waves sent through Christmas Cove by numerous ferries and power boats made it challenging for Mikayla to complete the repairs begun earlier in the day. At times she clung to the mast and waited out the waves.

Mikayla completed her tasks and brought the steaming/deck light fixture down with her–only to return it the following day.

About Cheryl Crockett Lezovich

Mom, first mate and writer aboard a 40' Manta catamaran, S/V Happy Times.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mikayla and Mom Climb the Mast

  1. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy
    on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me
    to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to
    create your theme? Great work!

Leave a Reply

