A Farewell to Our Favorite Foods

A sign of good food

Mikayla and I bid adieu to our favorite American foods with breakfast at IHOP. We couldn’t resist visiting one of our favorite breakfast places. (It actually places second to Waffle House, an Atlanta institution, but we can’t find them in Florida.) We ordered a new item, the Cinn-A-Stack Pancakes.

IHOP menu

IHOP's menu features its new pancakes

The pancakes came four high and swirled with a cinnamon sauce that was so sweet it set my teeth on edge. Still, I poured a little maple syrup over the top since I knew it would be a long time before I could taste real maple syrup again.

Mikayla and I managed to corner most of our favorite dishes on our vacation, including homemade pizza cooked on the Big Green Egg, courtesy of my brother-in-law Geoff. Our first attempt, using Publix’s excellent bread dough, burned a bit on the bottom since we didn’t have enough cornmeal on the stone. Nonetheless, Mikayla and my nieces Seren and Bekah ate the pepperoni and cheese pizza.

Our second attempt was better as Mikayla jumped in to help me remove the pizza from the ceramic barbecue grill. Geoff threw on a few apple wood chips that added a sweet, smoky flavor. The meat lover’s delight included pepperoni, bacon and sausage.

Vegan pizza

Best pizza cooked on Big Green Egg

The best overall pizza award went to the vegan delight loaded with garlic, olives, roasted peppers and sun-dried tomatoes. Geoff, my sister-in-law Ellen and I ate more than necessary, but the flavors were irresistible.

Mikayla and I were unable to swing by Steak ‘n’ Shake for one of its outstanding milkshakes, and we couldn’t squeeze in a salmon grilled on the BGE. It’s probably a good thing. I gained five pounds in just over a month.

About Cheryl Crockett Lezovich

Mom, first mate and writer aboard a 40' Manta catamaran, S/V Happy Times.
This entry was posted in Dining and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

