B’s Hot Spot

A couple of months ago, I was walking along the Carenage when a spicy scent wafted over the sidewalk. In an instant I decided that whatever dish created the tempting scent would become my lunch.

I stepped into B’s Hot Spot and ordered a chicken roti and a Carib. The dish lived up to its fragrance. The roti was packed with green peas, chickpeas, potatoes, spices and bone-in chicken. (The bones are left in, island-style, to cut down on labor. Next time, I’ll order boneless.) Plenty of curry inside gave the roti a slight kick.

Goat roti ©2011 Cheryl Crockett Lezovich

The roti took up most of the plate. It measured about seven inches long by five inches wide. The pillow had depth, too, approximately two inches.

On the side came two condiments I haven’t seen elsewhere: a spicy green mango sauce and a tamarind sauce that added a sweet and spicy tang.

I returned to B’s today to try another version, the goat. It was quite tasty, too, but I failed to ask about the bones and found many small stones in my order.

B reluctantly agrees to a photograph ©2011 Cheryl Crockett Lezovich

B is quite unassuming and efficient, serving the three tables herself or preparing packages for take-out. She runs a brisk business as four orders went out the door in about 20 minutes, and rotis take a lot more time to put together than American-style take-out.

B moved with her parents from Trinidad, where she learned to make rotis, four years ago. She owns and runs the cafe herself, and the kitchen, hidden from view, must have one or two cooks.

I stopped by a souvenir shop after my initial visit to B’s, and the sales clerk told me that B’s offers the best roti in Grenada. I second that.

About Cheryl Crockett Lezovich

Mom, first mate and writer aboard a 40' Manta catamaran, S/V Happy Times.
This entry was posted in Dining, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

