No Bull

A violinist engages a young audience. ©2012 Cheryl Crockett Lezovich

I saw my first bull fight about 25 years ago in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. It was also my last. I enjoyed the pageantry and the showmanship, but it wasn’t an experience I wanted to relive. Mike, Mikayla and the Huffords, on the other hand, were keen to observe the tradition before it declines further. I headed to the Urribe Botanical Garden, named after the previous president of Colombia. They headed to the Plaza de Toros La Macarena where six bulls fell eventually at the hands of three matadors and a handful of picadors.

After getting caught in a downpour at the garden, I sought refuge under the canopy of a large public bathroom. The spot was recommended by a Colombian man with whom I carried on a conversation in my halting espagnol. When I explained where my family was spending the afternoon, he said of bullfighting that it is “una faille de humanite,” a failure of humanity.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Cheryl Crockett Lezovich

Mom, first mate and writer aboard a 40' Manta catamaran, S/V Happy Times.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No Bull

  1. Gary Decker says:

    I agree with you on this one. I like to experience other cultures, but infant sacrifice was a part of many cultures not so long ago, and it’s not something I would want to witness. I don’t like boxing either.

    Gary

Leave a Reply

